Remove or change your backup address

Hello,
I have a problem; my MSN account has been hacked because my brother set his MSN address as my backup email. This person has disclosed my address to others. Even if I change my password, he can manage to get my password each time using my backup email. And that's not all; he was able to request a new password for my Facebook account and thus access both my MSN and Facebook accounts. I would like to change or delete my backup email, but this option is not shown in MSN's help. How can I delete my backup email without deleting my Hotmail address? What can I do? Please help me.

Configuration: Windows 7 / Internet Explorer 8.0

1 answer

  1. Hello

    You need to log into your account, go to hotmail options >> account management >> manage account >> change password recovery >> then add another backup address and delete the first one

    without access to the account, it is impossible to change the backup address.
    6
    1. I did as you said, removing the old backup address. Below it says "add", I write the new address and then I click on "remove" to get rid of the other one, but it says:

      "We will send a link that you can use to confirm the removal of ........." (the old address). How would you like to receive the link?"

      Below it also says: "send an email to the address ......................" (it still shows the old address). So I can't click on "send the link" because it's still that person who will receive the message to confirm the removal of the backup address. What should I do? It's complicated?

      Furthermore, below it's also noted: "You are not using any of these security information?" and we can click on: "Mark all for removal". And it says:

      "If you no longer have access to the addresses and contact numbers provided in your security information, you can mark them all for removal. When you do this, we will send a notification to all the addresses and contact numbers available in your security information and remove them from your account after 30 days."

      remove all / cancel

      What does it involve if you click?
      0
    2. "What does it commit us to if we click?"

      If you click, as indicated, in 30 days, Hotmail will delete the backup email address and contact numbers.
      You will still be able to add another address afterwards.
      0
    3. When you say that it will remove the contact numbers, do you mean the people who are supposed to receive the confirmation email for the removal of the backup email address, or are you referring to my contacts (friends) who are on my MSN wall?
      0
    4. It will remove the phone number attached to your Hotmail account (if you have provided one) for recovering your password in case you forget it.
      0
    5. If we do "Mark all for deletion" for a backup email address that we want to detach from the main account, will the backup email address still exist? Or does it delete the email address permanently both from the main account and as an address itself?

      I hope it only removes the link between the two and not the address entirely, because otherwise I'm in trouble!!!
      Thank you for replying.
      0